Information for authors

The editor invites submission of material with a view to publication in the NILQ. Please email your submission to the NILQ editor

Articles of any length will be considered for publication, but should not normally exceed 10,000 words. All articles must have an abstract (max 150 words) and at least three keywords (max 10). Note that the NILQ follows the Oxford Standard for Citation of Legal Authorities (OSCOLA): see OSCOLA Fourth Edition.

Founded in 1936, the Northern Ireland Legal Quarterly is a generalist peer-reviewed academic law journal that endeavors to provide critical insight into topics of interest to the legal profession throughout the United Kingdom and the world.

To this end, the Editors are now accepting original research of approximately 2,000 words in length (including footnotes) in OSCOLA format from members of the legal community at various stages of professional development. Practitioners, parliamentarians, members of the judiciary as well as academics at all stages of postgraduate study including professional researchers are invited to contribute to the NILQ concerning the tree topics specified below. Correspondence should be sent directly to the editors of the particular section via the email addresses provided.     

For prospective submission of pieces on topics outside the scope of these sections, please contact Professor Sally Wheeler.
For information on longer pieces see https://nilq.qub.ac.uk/index.php/nilq or contact Professor Sally Wheeler. for details.
Case Notes: 
Thomas Chambers (Senior Editor)
tchambers03@qub.ac.uk

William Chandler (Junior Editor)
wchandler01@qub.ac.uk

Trends in the Market for Legal Services:

Stephanie Johnston (Senior Editor)
sjohnston71@qub.ac.uk

Manni Ardzejewska (Junior Editor)
mardzejewska01@qub.ac.uk

Statutory Reports:

Zachary Mercado (Senior Editor) 
zmercado01@qub.ac.uk

Ze Wang (Junior Editor)
zwang27@qub.ac.uk

For further information, see the About the Journal page and the Notes for Contributors

The electronic submission process will be opened at the end of 2017. At that stage, authors will need to register with the journal prior to submitting or, if already registered, simply log in and begin the five-step process.